Skip to content

Letter to Amicus; Part One

September 7, 2012

Susan Mwarabu has been a volunteer social media contributor for Amicus since 2011. Susan relocated to North Carolina and is currently in graduate school, attaining her Masters in Public Administration. Her experiences with Amicus have prompted her series of letters to Amicus which will highlight her first meeting with Amicus, her probation experiences, as well as how she has dealt with job hunting challenges.

It’s been over a year since I first walked into the offices of Amicus looking for something that would give meaning to my life. Not only did I find compassionate people ready to listen, I found something more. I found a group of people who bravely embraced new ideas and didn’t shy away from trying out new concepts.

April 9 - Quill Writing

Letter to Amicus

As I told communications director Steve Nelson and Robyn McCullough about how I wanted to contribute, never in a million years did I think they would give me the chance to be involved in their social media campaign. After all, I was not perfect. I came with all my imperfections and I had even prepared the speech stating exactly how I had come to make a big mistake in my life that had cost me my career. I was surprised when they instantly accepted my request to volunteer in their social media communications. Without much fan fare (I was prepared for many barriers and huddles before getting involved) they put me to work right away and gave me a chance to use my skills in putting out the Amicus message.

From blogging to tweeting to creating newsletters, Amicus staff did not fear reaching out to the community. Even after relocating to North Carolina, I still find myself wanting to sustain the friendship that is the foundation of Amicus. A friendship, such as the one that Amicus offers is most rare. It doesn’t demand that you be perfect. Rather, it takes you as you are. With all your faults, and tries to give you the tools you need to reenter the community after making poor judgments. Amicus doesn’t judge, doesn’t put you on a probationary period to see if you can cut it.

A friendship from Amicus is a friendship of a lifetime.

Leave a Reply

